Gabrielle’s Work Experience

Our second work experience student this year, Gabrielle Clewett, was a most enthusiastic and helpful young lady. We asked her to describe her experience at the museum:

On the week beginning 23rd May, I started my work experience and even though I was only there for a week (well unfortunately I only had 4 days because I had a GCSE exam) they gave me lots of fun and different jobs to do with different members of staff.

When I first arrived there on the Monday, I wasn’t really that nervous as I had been to meet Mr Perry in late March to talk about my work experience placement but as it was my first day working there and I still had butterflies in my stomach. When I went in, I was shown around the Museum and where all the fire exits were and then got straight into work. In the morning, I had the opportunity to condition and record bits of pottery from thousands of years ago and photograph them as well and then after I had my lunch, I got to look at the lithics which was really interesting as I didn’t really know much about them until I came here.

The rest of the week I got to do visitor survey data entries, collections data entries (this was quite challenging as it was hard to read other people’s handwriting!). Also, I got to promote talks for the museums in July via social media on a word document which was good practice for my English persuasive writing skills and in the afternoon I got to take pictures for my blog.

I also got to see what it was like to be behind the desk which was a bit nerve-wracking for me but I soon got the hang of it! Not only did I get to do that, I got to help organise all the books in the shop and use one of those price sticker label guns (I’ve always wanted to use that!). I have really enjoyed my short but productive week here at the Museum and I really recommend for anyone doing work experience that this is definitely the place to go!

IMG_7081

Luckily for me I don’t have to go back to school next week because it is half-term which is good!

Leave a Reply

