Winners of the Derbyshire Open

The 33rd Derbyshire Open Art Exhibition opens this weekend. Professional and amateur artists of all ages have submitted work for consideration by a panel of independent judges. The top prize is £750 and the winning work is usually acquired for the museum collection. We have already had some wonderful comments from visitors, who agree with the judges that the standard of entries this year was particularly high. Please make a visit to the exhibition and see if you agree. You can vote in the remaining prize category, the Visitor’s Choice Award, until 2 August (the winner will be announced on 4 August.) The Derbyshire Open Art Exhibition runs until Friday 11 September.

Kinder Downfall by Stuart Johnson, winner of the Derbyshire Trophy 2015

Kinder Downfall by Stuart Johnson, winner of the Derbyshire Trophy 2015

Derbyshire artist Anna Thomas has been kind enough to share her experience of winning the competition in 2014. We hope that it will inspire you to have a go yourself next year. Over to you, Anna:

In 2014, I was awarded The Derbyshire Trophy for my painting Sheep On Hard Ground. It was the first time that I had entered The Derbyshire Open Art Competition and I did not pay much attention to the list of prizes – after all, winning prizes was something that only happened to other people; I was just hoping that I might be lucky enough to get one of my paintings accepted for the exhibition.

The news that I had won the trophy therefore came as a complete and wonderful surprise. This award has helped me to continue to establish myself as an artist, and it is also very special to feel part of a tradition and to know that my work is included in Buxton Museum and Art Gallery’s permanent collection.

My thanks to all at Buxton Museum and Art Gallery and my congratulations to Stuart Johnson, the winner of the 2015 Derbyshire Trophy.  I look forward to seeing your painting, Kinder Downfall.

Sheep on Hard Ground by Anna Thomas, winner of the Derbyshire Trophy 2014

Sheep on Hard Ground by Anna Thomas, winner of the Derbyshire Trophy 2014

Please note that Buxton Museum and Art Gallery takes copyright very seriously and if you wish to use the images in this post, please drop us a line at buxton.museum@derbyshire.gov.uk

Leave a Reply

